2012 High School All-Americans

LAGUNA NIGUEL, CA – Well, there wasn’t much mystery about who was going to be the national high school Player of the Year. Shabazz Muhammad was the front-runner going into his senior season, and remained in that position after leading Las Vegas Bishop Gorman to a Nevada state title.

And then Muhammad proceeded to trample whatever competition existed by returning from Chicago (McDonald’s All-American Game), Portland (Nike Hoop Summit) and Charlotte (Jordan Brand Classic) with Most Outstanding Player hardware.

Muhammad is joined on the BurlisonOnBasketball Senior All-American first team by a future UCLA teammate (Kyle Anderson), a soon-to-be shot-blocking specialist for Kentucky (Nerlens Noel) and a couple of guards headed to the ACC (Rodney Purvis) and Big 12 (Marcus Smart), respectively.

A couple of junior forwards were the strongest contenders for Top Underclassmen for 2011-12 honors.
They head up the first team All-Underclassmen All-American squad, with Jabari Parker getting the nod over Aaron Gordon after much deliberation for Top Underclassmen designation.

The other BurlisonOnBasketball honorees, followed by the complete All-American teams:

Top post defender: Nerlens Noel
Top perimeter defender: Marcus Smart
Top floor leader-playmaker: Marcus Smart
Top scorer: Shabazz Muhammad
Top coach: Bob Hurley (Jersey City St. Anthony)

All-American Teams

First Team
Kyle Anderson | 6-8 | Jersey City, NJ, St. Anthony (UCLA)
Shabazz Muhammad | 6-5 | Las Vegas, NV, Bishop Gorman (UCLA)
Nerlens Noel | 6-9 | Tilton, NH, Tilton School (Kentucky)
Marcus Smart | 6-3 | Flower Mound, TX, Marcus (Oklahoma St.)
Rodney Purvis | 6-3 | Raleigh, NC, Upper Room Christian Academy (NCSU)

Second Team
Grant Jerrett | 6-9 | La Verne, CA, Lutheran (Arizona)
Cameron Ridley | 6-10 | Richmond, TX, Ft. Bend Bush (Texas)
Sam Dekker | 6-7 | Sheboygan, WI, Lutheran (Wisconsin)
Rasheed Sulaimon | 6-3 | Houston, TX, Strake Jesuit (Duke)
Yogi Ferrell | 6-0 | Indianapolis, IN, Park Tudor (Indiana)

Third Team
Katin Reinhardt | 6-5 | Santa Ana, CA, Mater Dei (UNLV)
Amile Jefferson | 6-9 | Philadelphia, PA, Friends Central
Marcus Paige | 6-1 | Marion, IA, Linn-Marr (North Carolina)
Glenn Robinson | 6-6 | St. John, IN, Lake Central (Michigan)
Archie Goodwin | 6-4 | Little Rock, AR, Sylvan Hills (Kentucky)

Fourth Team
Alex Poythress | 6-8 | Clarksville, TN, Northeast (Kentucky)
Isaiah Austin | 7-0 | Arlington, TX, Grace Prep (Baylor)
Brandon Ashley | 6-7 | Henderson, NV, Findlay Prep (Arizona)
Ricardo Ledo | 6-6 | South Kent, CT, South Kent (Providence)
Kris Dunn | 6-3 | New London, CT, New London (Providence)

First Team
Andrew Wiggins | 6-7 | So. | Huntington, WV, Huntington Prep
Jahlil Okafor | 6-10 | So. | Chicago, IL, Whitney Young
Jabari Parker | 6-7 | Jr. | Chicago, IL, Simeon
Aaron Gordon | 6-7 | Jr. | San Jose, CA, Mitty
Kasey Hill | 6-1 | Jr. | Montverde, FL, Montverde Academy (Florida)

Second Team
Julius Randle | 6-8 | Jr. | Plano, TX, Prestonwood Christian
Ishmail Wainright | 6-5 | Jr. | Rockville, MD, Montrose Christian
Andrew Harrison | 6-4 | Jr. | Houston, TX, Travis
BeeJay Anya | 6-9 | Jr. | Hyattsville, MD, DeMatha
Tyus Jones | 6-1 | So. | Apple Valley, MN, Apple Valley

The following two tabs change content below.
Frank Burlison
One of the most respected basketball writers and basketball talent evaluators in the world. He’s an original (1978) member of the McDonald’s All-American Selection/Advisory Committee and was inducted into the United States Basketball Writers’ Association Hall of Fame during the 2005 Final Four in St. Louis.
Frank Burlison

Latest posts by Frank Burlison (see all)